Welcoming New CAS Faculty

Posted on: August 23, 2012

Pam WhittenI am glad to already have a faculty position within CAS as I am not sure I could have competed with the new faculty being hired in the college. We have some amazing new faculty members joining us this fall, and I wanted to take a minute to introduce them to you and welcome them to CAS! Between the incoming freshmen and the new faculty, we’ll have plenty of new faces in the building.

Susan Wyche will be an assistant professor in our TISM department, with a particular focus in Information Communication Technology for Development (ICT4D). She comes to us most recently from Virginia Tech’s Department of Computer Science, and is a NSF/CRA Computing Innovation Fellow. She has a Ph.D. in Human-Centered Computing from Georgia Tech's School of Interactive of Computing. Wyche’s focus is in Human-Computer Interactions (HCI).

Wietske Van Osch is also a new assistant professor in TISM. She received her Ph.D. in Economics and Business Information Systems from the University of Amsterdam Business School’s Department of Information Management. Dr. Van Osch’s focus is on social media and online communities. 

We’re also welcoming Casey O’Donnell and Kayla Hales to the TISM department as assistant professors. Dr. O’Donnell received a Ph.D. in Science and Technology Studies from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute with a focus on creative collaborative work of video game design and development. He comes to us from a faculty position Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia.  Dr. Kayla Hales received her Ph.D. in Information Sciences and Technology from Penn State. Her focus is on social interaction and technology use and using technology to improve social welfare.

The APRR department is welcoming some new faculty this fall as well. Anna McAlister comes to us from Consumer Science at the University of Wisconsin. Dr. McAlister received a Ph.D. in Psychology from the School of Psychology at the University of Queensland, Australia and her focus is on advertising to children, persuasion and vulnerability and public policy.  

Ann Kronrod also joins the APRR department as an assistant professor. Dr. Kronrod comes to us from Sloan School of Management at MIT where she was named Postdoctoral Fellow. She received her Ph.D. in Cognitive Science of Language from Tel-Aviv University and her focus is on how to communicate.  John Besley comes to CAS as an associate professor and Brandt Chair in the department of APRR. Dr. Besley received his Ph.D. in Philosophy and Communication from the Department of Communication at Cornell University.  Prior to coming to MSU, he was on the faculty at the University of South Carolina’s School of Journalism and Mass Communications. 

Dr. Bruno Takahashi and Dr. Serena Carpenter are joining our School of Journalism. Dr. Takahashi is an assistant professor who hails from the State University of New York (SUNY). He received his Ph.D. in Environmental Science from SUNY and his focus is on public communication about the environment. Dr. Carpenter was a faculty member at Arizona State University's Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. A CAS alumna, she received a Ph.D. in the Media and Information Studies Program from Michigan State University. Her focus is on digital media and she’ll be an assistant professor in journalism innovations.

A warm welcome to all of our new faculty; we’re so glad to have you on board!


Share via these networks: