Students receive SPJ awards

Posted on: April 2, 2011

Michigan State University students received 19 Mark of Excellence awards at the Region 4 Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) spring conference. 

MSU students received more awards than any other university in the region during the 2010 awards program on April 2. MSU students received five first-place awards, swept one category and had a double winner in another. The awards were across the media spectrum including TV, online, radio, magazines and newspapers. 

Here is the list of winners:

Television general news reporting
2nd and 3rd place: Marty Berman

Television news photography
1st place: Jazmin Bailey 

Television feature photography
1st place: Marty Berman
2nd place: Marty Berman
3rd place: Kelley Tourangeau

Television in-depth reporting
2nd place: Kelley Tourangeau 

Television sports reporting
2nd place: Jonathan McEmber
3rd place: Tamra Johnson

Best all-around television newscast
3rd place: Focal Point

Online in-depth reporting
3rd place: E. Pacheco B. McGaughey A. O'Dell, C. Morra, J. Spiro and B. Bienkowski 

Online opinion and commentary 
1st and 2nd place: Alice Rossignol and Rachael Gleason for Great Lakes Smackdown

Best independent online student publication
2nd place: Great Lakes Echo

Radio news reporting
3rd place: Alice Rossignol

Non-fiction magazine article
3rd place: Brian Bienkowski

Print in-depth reporting
1st place: Brittany Shammas

Print feature writing
1st place Brittany Shammas

Best all-around student newspaper
2nd place: The State News staff

The region's top schools were MSU with 19 awards, Central Michigan University with 14 awards and Kent State University and Marshall University tied with 12 each. 

MSU's Gleason and Rossignol were also among the winners in last year's contest, in which Spartans took 14 prizes. The region includes Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia and western Pennsylvania. Twenty MSU students, faculty members and alumni presented at the conference or attended.

First-place winners will progress on to the national contest, the winners of which will be announced in May.

Share via these networks: