The School of Journalism recognizes student achievements and accomplishments through multiple awards each year. Students are nominated and selected by faculty.

Albert A. Applegate Outstanding Senior
Capital News Service Connections Awards
Rachel Carson Award for Outstanding Graduate Student in Environmental Journalism
Mary Gardner Scholars
Kappa Tau Alpha
Knight Center for Environmental Journalism Service Award
Edward J. Meeman Award in Environmental Journalism
Outstanding Graduate Student

The J-School isn't the only place students get recognition, and we want to share the good news with you. Our students win tons of awards for investigative reporting, writing, design, TV news, magazine apps, multimedia websites, sports reporting . . . you name it!

Overall, more than 300 students won awards in the past five years. There's nothing like winning an award to get employers to take a second look at you! Some of the contests they have placed in are listed below.

  • AAJA Sanford Chen Internship Grant
  • Abe Fellowship Project with the Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnership
  • AEJMC Top Honors for Specialized Business Magazine
  • Associated Collegiate Press Awards
  • Association of Capital Reporters & Editors Award
  • Roy W. Howard National Collegiate Reporting Competition
  • Student Sustainability Film Festival
  • Broadcast Education Association contest
  • Carl Beck Memorial Scholarship
  • College Sports Designer of the Year Finalist
  • College Sports Page Designer of the Year
  • Deadline Story
  • Dow Jones Newspaper and Multimedia Workshop
  • Dow Jones Newspaper Fund National Competition
  • MSUSND Design Contest for College Students
  • Mid-Michigan Creative Alliance
  • Journalism Education Association Future Teacher Scholarship
  • Michigan Association of Broadcasters
  • Michigan College Journalist of the year
  • Michigan Collegiate Press Award
  • Michigan Emmy Board Best Student Broadcast
  • Michigan Emmy nominations and wins
  • MSU Outstanding Senior
  • MSU Spartan Scholar
  • MSU Board of Trustees Award
  • Minnie E. Newman Scholarship
  • National American Society of Magazine Editors Internship
  • National Association of Broadcasters Award of Excellence
  • National Ed Bradley Scholarship
  • National Finalist Society of Professional Journalist
  • National Gannett Talent Development Program
  • National Hearst Foundation Journalism Awards
  • National Hearst Foundation Journalism Awards Championship
  • National PGA Scholarship
  • National Pulliam Fellowship
  • National Scripps Howard Foundation Internship Grant
  • National Sports Journalism Institute
  • New York Times Student Journalism Institute
  • NLGJA National Excellence in Journalism
  • Online News Association Student Journalist
  • Poynter Fellowship
  • Richard and Donna Milliman Community Journalism Scholarship
  • Richard Lee Featherstone Endowed Prize
  • St. Petersburg Times Fund Scholarship
  • Top Honors for Specialized Business Magazine
  • University Undergraduate Research and Arts Forum
  • Washington D.C. Center for Politics and Journalism
Share via these networks: