Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame to Induct New Members

Posted on: April 1, 2014

MI Journalism Hall of FameSeven new members will be inducted into the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame and a Special Recognition Award given on Sunday, April 13, at the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development at Michigan State University. The event begins with a 5 p.m. reception. Dinner and the induction ceremony will follow at 6 p.m.

The 2014 inductees are journalism innovator Bill McGraw, journalist and educator Charles Eisendrath, business reporter Jennifer Moore, investigative reporter Ken Kolker, broadcast journalist Cheryl Chodun, prep sports reporter Mick McCabe and reporter and educator William Serrin.

The Michigan Hall of Fame Committee also will give a Special Recognition Award to association executive and College of Communication Arts and Sciences alumnus Edward Deeb for his sustained contributions to Michigan journalism. Deeb earned a B.A. in Advertising from MSU in 1960.

The Special Recognition Award distinguishes individuals who have made sustained and significant contributions and are held in high esteem for their role and support of journalism in Michigan.

MSU's School of Journalism has been the home of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame since 1985, reprising the Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame, which had been dormant since 1968.

The Hall of Fame honors journalists who have advanced the legacy of a free and responsible press and who have influenced Michigan journalism.

Co-sponsors of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame are the Asian American Journalists Association; Department of Journalism, Central Michigan University; Detroit Chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists; Detroit Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists; The Detroit Press Club; Individual Communicators Network; Journalism Program, Wayne State University; Michigan Association of Broadcasters; Michigan Interscholastic Press Association; Mid-Michigan Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists; and the School of Journalism, Michigan State University.

For tax-deductible sponsorship opportunities and to purchase ads in the Hall of Fame banquet program, please contact Nicole Walworth at 517-353-6430 or email walwor17@msu.edu.

For more information, see the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame website.

Share via these networks: