CAS Hosting National Press Photographers Judges

Posted on: April 1, 2014


This week the College of Communication Arts and Sciences and School of Journalism are hosting judges from the National Press Photographers Association (NPPA) as they select the winners of the annual Best of TV Photojournalism and Editing contest.

The judging, which began March 30 and runs through April 2 in CAS Rooms 260 and 266, is open to students, faculty and staff to hear how the winning entries are selected and to see some extraordinary visual storytelling.

A panel discussion with the judges was held Monday, March 31, where they discussed their favorite contest entries and talked about life in the TV, film and production industry.

The judges include Kathy Kieliszewski, director of photography and video at the Detroit Free Press; Shawn Montano, chair of the Video Production and Editing Program at Emily Griffith Technical College in Denver, Colo.; Merry Murray, news photojournalist/editor; Deborah Potter, executive director of NewsLab; Catherine Steward, a photojournalist for WTVF NewsChannel 5 in Nashville, Tenn.; Mark Tauscheck, reporter and fill-in anchor for KCCI in Des Moines, Iowa; and Kylee Wall, editor for Biscardi Creative Media in Atlanta, Ga.

This is the second year in a row CAS and the School of Journalism have hosted the NPPA judges for the Best of TV Photojournalism and Editing contest.

The NPPA is dedicated to the advancement of photojournalism, its creation, editing and distribution in all news media. It is the leading voice advocating for the work of visual journalists today.

Share via these networks: