CAS Faculty Continue to Push the Envelope

Posted on: May 14, 2013


The College of Communication Arts & Sciences has a stellar reputation for attracting true innovators from around the world, both as teachers and researchers. I am confident that this well-deserved reputation is stronger today than ever, evident through the caliber of students that we are attracting, the increase in research dollars being awarded to the college, and the numerous accolades our faculty and students are earning in all departments and specializations.

Just this year, we have among our faculty a Fulbright Scholar and International Communication Association (ICA) Career Achievement recipient (Joe Walther), ICA Fellow (Sandi Smith), ICA Applied Research Award for a team of three faculty (Charles Atkin, Kami Silk and Sandi Smith), FCC Chief Economist appointment (Steve Wildman), the Meaningful Play Game of the Year designer (Carrie Heeter), two Excellence in Teaching award recipients of only five awarded across the university (Samantha Nazione and Jessica Russell), a University Distinguished Faculty awardee (Johannes Bauer), an American Academy of Advertising Fellow for lifetime achievement (Jef Richards), a Knight Mozilla Fellow (Sonya Song), , as well as several top paper recognitions across disciplines (Constantinos Coursaris, Wietske van Osch and Bruno Takahashi).

And here at CAS, a special recognition is given each year known as the Faculty Impact Award. It was created by the CAS Alumni Board and is given annually to a current faculty member of the college who has made a significant and enduring impact on the lives and careers of his or her students. Nominations are made by CAS students and/or alumni.

This year’s recipient is Karl Gude, Graphics Editor-in-Residence with our School of Journalism. Gude is the former director of information graphics at Newsweek magazine and The Associated Press. He left Newsweek to spearhead the first information graphics program in the college, where he also teaches the creative process as part of the Media Sandbox faculty.

As a visual storyteller, artist and writer, Karl consults with corporations, scientific institutions and government agencies including NSF and the CIA, as well as across campus for a unique array of research and creative initiatives. However, Karl’s creative magic comes alive most brilliantly when he engages with our students. Overhearing his enthusiasm and passion in the hallways and classroom, you instantly know he was meant to inspire future creative communicators. Please join me in congratulating Karl Gude when you see him, and check out the video that captures his surprise when presented this award.

Reflective of our ability to attract the top professionals in their respective fields is the recent appointment of James Dearing as the new chair of our department of Communication. Dearing is the senior scientist in the Institute for Health Research for Kaiser Permanente Colorado and co-director of the HMO Cancer Communication Research Center, a National Cancer Institute center of excellence. He is also co-director of Kaiser’s Center for Health Education Dissemination and Implementation Research. 

Dearing earned his Ph.D. from the University of Southern California and was a professor of Communication and director of Graduate Studies in the School of Communication Studies at Ohio University. He also served on the faculties of Michigan State University, the University of California-Berkeley, and the University of Michigan. His research interests will be an excellent fit for our college, complementing and elevating our commitment to Health and Risk Communication. Stay tuned for more details about Dearing's accomplishments, interests and future plans in upcoming issues of CAS NEWS.

I would also like to extend an enthusiastic welcome to a cadre of new faculty who will be joining the college over the summer and through the fall. As we draw closer to the new school year, I will share more about each of them along with pictures, but for now, please join me in welcoming Anastasia Konova (Advertising + Public Relations), Fan Cao and Eric Hunter (Communicative Sciences and Disorders), Jennifer Ware (School of Journalism), and Shelia Cotten, Andrew Dennis, Jina Huh and Josh Introne (Telecommunication, Information Studies and Media).


Share via these networks: